AAHSL Program and Education Committee 2017 Annual Report

Committee Members

Fatima Barnes, Howard University, 11/16-11/19
Rick Brewer, University of Kentucky, 11/15-11/18
Allysha Eyler, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, 11/15-11/18
Heidi Heilemann, Stanford University School of Medicine, 11/16-11/17
Shannon Jones, Medical University of South Carolina, (Incoming Chair), 11/15-11/18
Tiffany Moxham, University of California-Riverside, 11/17-11/19
Neil Rambo, New York University (Board Liaison), 2017
Neil Romanosky, University of Toronto, 11/17-11/19
Deborah Ward, University of Missouri (Chair), 11/15-11/18
Jeff Williams, New York University (Past Chair), 11/14-11/17

Planning Process

The Committee met by phone in February, and identified three areas of primary interest for the program. A face-to-face meeting at the MLA Annual Meeting and phone conferences throughout the summer were held. We began our planning by reviewing the Education Program evaluations from the 2016 program, reviewed our top three areas of interest for the program, and reviewed suggestions for the Matheson Lecture. We divided our committee into two groups: one to focus on the Matheson Lecture; and another group to focus on the Education Program. The Education Program group received input from several chairs of several of the AAHSL committees, which was helpful. We returned to meeting as a large group in late August, to finalize the program format and other details.

Education Program

In 2016, the Matheson Lecture was integrated into the AAHSL program day, with the traditional length of program. What we learned from the evaluation for the 2016 meeting was that we needed to shorten the education program to prevent the day from being too long. We also noted that a more interactive experience for the day was desired by many members. We took on the goal of achieving an interactive program in a two-hour time frame, with ample networking time around the group lunch. Neil Rambo recommended the DeEtta Jones & Associates consulting group, (http://www.deettajones.com), and made the initial contact for us. Over time, we worked out an interactive program on communicating with stakeholders, facilitated by Gary Wasdin: Strategic Communication: 5 Tips to Effectively Engage Up.

The final program is included as an appendix to this report.

Matheson Lecture

Rick Brewer, Fatima Barnes, and Tiffany Moxham worked with Shannon Jones on securing a 2017 Matheson Lecturer. Shannon had worked on this effort the year before, and assumed leadership for the small group. After one chosen speaker declined due to a scheduling conflict, the group was successful in recruiting John Wilbanks, Chief Commons Officer at Sage Bionetworks, to be the 2017 Matheson Lecturer, on the topic of data curation.

2018 Program Planning

Shannon Jones will serve as committee chair in 2018. Anna Beth Morgan, Mayo Clinic, is a new member for 2018.

Respectfully submitted Deborah Ward, Chair, 2017